Book Update 2: Musical Motivation

Book, http://schemas.google.com/blogger/2008/kind#post, The Rising of The Elements

So, when I write I tend to listen to a variety of different music, which all help with creating different tones in the book’s narrative. I thought I’d list out some songs/albums that I find motivate me. 
Also, read Book Update 1 for an explanation on why Countdown by Beyoncé helps me when writing death scenes, as morbid as it sounds. 

  1. Matangi – M.I.A: I’ve listened to this album a lot while writing TROTE, especially during chapter 2 and 4 which are pretty abstract and bizarre in what happens (I shan’t spoil it but I’ll give one word – dreams). 
  2. Good Morning – Amber Run: This song is the inspiration behind a lot of the ‘happy’ parts of the book, it feels so youthful and free that it resonates with the ultimate motive for the protagonist. 
  3. Countdown – Beyoncé: This song is one I listened to while writing death scenes because it helped me ‘speed the death up’, I couldn’t have prolonged death scenes because the action is so fast-paced.
  4. Coming Home – Sigma: This song I’ve listened to when writing the final few pages, the story takes a refreshing turn in the ending and isn’t too morbid despite what’s happened in previous pages. The protagonist is ‘coming home’ to whatever it is that’s waiting for him (can’t mention what exactly this is because of spoilers).
  5. Army – Ellie Goulding: The ‘battle’ in TROTE is fueled, on the Uprisers part, by strength and unity, the antagonists side being fueled by power and jealousy. Army motivates me when writing scenes of conflict by helping me remember the reason behind why Isaac, the protagonist, is doing what he’s doing.
  6. Time To Say Goodbye (Con Te Partiro) – Andrea Bocelli: This is a bizarre contradiction of no. 3, this song stood out to me when writing two particular deaths that are extremely moving which I do ‘drag out’ through the book. The deaths embody hope and courage, but also sadness which is alluded to and a major plot point later on. 
  7. Lykke Li: I’ve listened to a lot of Lykke Li while writing, her music is powerful yet tender and was a good source of motivation and inspiration for a particular character in this book.
  8. That Black Bat Licorice – Jack White: Angsty and energetic, this song was listened to A LOT during chapter 5 and 6. 
I fear I can’t say a lot because I know of a few people who are looking forward to read it and I want them to go in ‘blind’, as ridiculous as that sounds, I know.
Thanks for reading!

Leave a comment