Adele ’25’ Review

adele, http://schemas.google.com/blogger/2008/kind#post, review

Hello. It’s me, I was wondering if after all these years you’d like to read… my review of ADELE’S NEW ALBUM. YES YES YES!

‘Hello’ is, of course, the best known track from the album, but in the context of the album’s narrative it’s an intense and moving introduction to the next stage of Adele’s life and musical career. It sets the theme, this being reflection on relationships and the past in general, yet successfully re-establishes place in the music industry. The track itself is truly emotive and powerful, although the opening lines are tender and careful which provides a nice contrast when that develops into the aforementioned emotional power of the song. I do believe that ‘Hello’ will remain one of Adele’s most popular songs for years to come, and rightly so, as it’s a brilliant song. 
‘Send My Love (To Your New Lover)’ manages to combine sass and strength in the best possible way. Upon first hearing the track, I wasn’t too sure if it worked. After a few more listens, I warmed to it. I was surprised at the musical direction, the initial indecisiveness being that I was expecting ballad after ballad on this album, yet ‘Send My Love’ is upbeat and fresh. This works in the songs favour, while it could have easily been a ballad, it seems Adele wanted to show strength in this song, and does so successfully by adding some funk and sass. It’s a great song, and could very easily be successful, however I feel it may take a few listeners some time to warm to it. 
‘I Miss You’ also surprised me, in a sense that it’s sultriness was completely unexpected. I genuinely thought I had somehow started listening to a Beyoncé song instead of Adele until the vocals kicked in. Yet, again, Adele manages to give an abundance of emotion and sense of connection in this song, or perhaps a desire for connection in the case of this song.
Check that high note though, because ‘When We Were Young’ is one of the most touching and magnificent songs Adele has released. Adele has a way of intriguing you with a simple 5 seconds of introduction, and with this song especially you know that it’s going to be that Adele song that makes you tear up. This is the epitome of reflection in this album, focusing on the glamorisation of young relationships, when actually, it’s broken and painful to experience. Adele’s vocals are at an all time high in this song, and it’s easy to disregard the emotion she puts into this song. Take some time to listen to the lyrics, listen to her voice. It’s awe-inspiring.
When I first heard ‘Remedy’, this was the song that got to me the most. The story Adele tells in the song is heart-breaking, it resonates with everyone. “When the pain cuts you deep, when the night keeps you from sleeping, just look and you will see I will be your remedy”. How vulnerable are those lyrics? She’s giving her time to help somebody, she wants to ‘cure them’. It’s something we all experience. The song itself is wonderfully produced, a simple piano, no backing vocals, a stripped-back Adele song that still manages to be poignant and contemplative. Adele really hits the mark with this song.
‘Water Under The Bridge’ is my favourite song from ’25’. I went for a walk earlier (writing this on the day of release) and had this song on repeat for the entire 40 minutes. The song is epic, production-wise, lyrically, vocally, it’s simply epic. The lyrics are sincerly heart-breaking – “don’t pretend that you don’t want me” being a prime example. The production on ‘Water Under The Bridge’ is deceptive, disguising the sadness of the song behind a fun and hip stylised song. Dare I say it, but this is in fact my favourite Adele song of all time, and easily has potential to become my favourite song in general if I don’t overplay it due to loving it so much. Would it be weird to say that I’m actually thankful for this song, because it really is stunning. 
‘River Lea’ is slightly gospel-like which works in the songs favour, because it makes the song much more easy and comforting to listen to. It’s a fun song, ‘River Lea’ manages to be empowering and defining for Adele in her new artistic direction. It’s definitely a song not to be missed.
Similar to ‘When We Were Young’ and ‘Remedy’, my first impression of this song was that it was going to be a heartbreaking song. Perhaps this song has the potential to be ignored when placed against songs such as ‘Water Under The Bridge’ and ‘Remedy’, but it does deserve recognition for remnants to Adele’s past music.
‘Million Years Ago’ is another stripped-back track on the album, with Adele’s vocals being tender and almost considerate. Similar to ‘Love In The Dark’, my initial thoughts were that this song could be pushed aside for the ‘bigger’ songs on the album, but the reaction to ‘Million Years Ago’ on social media, Twitter especially, has glorified the song, which I found interesting. Perhaps a song doesn’t need huge production to be a hit with the listeners, sometimes it’s nice to sit back and listen to a stripped-back song (it’ll still make you cry though).
While ‘All I Ask’ is another stripped-back song, it stands out on the album because of it’s story. One last night with her lover – “what if I never love again”, perhaps something that resonates strongly with listeners. I wouldn’t know, personally, yet it still gets to me. The heartbreak heard so clearly in Adele’s vocals have a huge impact on the song. 
How do you end an album about reflection and heartbreak? With ‘Sweetest Devotion’ of course, a song about the present. Adele’s found happiness, and you can really hear that in this song. She’s found her sweetest devotion, what Adele says is “the one that I belong to”. ‘Sweetest Devotion’ is a fantastic way to end the album, and a reassuring confirmation from Adele that one can actually find happiness, three albums later. 
To summarise, ’25’ does well with reflecting on the past, the narrative of the album is set clearly from the offset which is pleasant. While some songs can be lost due to the strength of others, when put together the album is powerful and exceeds the high expectations it has had for two long years. Standout songs include ‘Water Under The Bridge’, ‘When We Were Young’ and ‘Remedy’. Welcome back, Adele. 
5 stars
That’s all for now.
Bye!
Totally Culture
Curtis

Leave a comment